Daily Archives: June 8, 2012

Question and Answer Session

Someone in one of my Facebook groups asked me a bunch of questions. I figured I would share my responses here…

Do you think your genetics has a lot to do with you getting to your six-pack? We all have the same basic template as humans. Uncovering the 6-pack that is there has more to do with your DIET and your lifestyle choices. We ALL have the muscles. It just becomes a question of how defined are your muscles. And how much fat do u have on top of the muscles. But we all have the possibility to show them…as long as you haven’t done major damage or severely stretched out your skin.

How about your build or body type? The density of your bones or your build might be slightly different, but we all start with the same basic skeleton with the same muscles placed on top.

Has prior athletic activities growing up been the foundation? I didn’t become athletic til abt 3 years ago! I was more into studying than sports…though I did play some with family. Just nothing that shaped the way I live now.

Does age or child-birth impact the time it takes to see them? Age will affect metabolism and maybe how long it takes to burn fat. So maybe. And child birth…maybe. But that depends on how active you were before and after the baby came. Different women will have different experiences.

How long is realistic to actually see the rips or definition? I cannot answer this. Sooo case by case. Different fat percentages, metabolisms, level of activity. There is no number that I can assign.

Is it primarily the eating or food choices? Yes and yes. How many times a day u eat and what u eat will help rev your metabolism and put u in fat burning mode. the exercise regimen? exercise…abt 15-20% But mainly diet.

What has been your personal experience in your journey on this aspect of transforming your body? I have had so many experiences, milestones, and mini transformations. But right now, I am the healthiest I have ever been. My body feels clean from the inside out. And along with the weight that has lifted from my physical body, I have also lifted weight from my mental and spiritual being. I have gotten rid of many unhealthy behaviors, relationships, and ppl from my life. And that has made me grow as a person.

 
I started my journey 3.5 years ago. The things that I have accomplished thus far has been more of a marathon of sorts…not a 5k. You guys are going thru these missions that r weeks long…what I did with my transformation took years. I just NEVER lost site of the bigger picture of being healthier, and my mind, body, and spirit have changed bc of it.

Do not get frustrated by the lil bumps. And DO realize that this stuff takes time. Take the time and acknowledge what u have accomplished and not place so much stock in what u have left to do.

1 Comment

Filed under diet, goals, health, weight, weight loss, workouts